47 Comments
Aug 9, 2023Liked by Jessica Wildfire

I've had my own website on Ghost for years (can't pretend I'm an expert, in fact I'm probably going to hire an expert to help modernize it) and really like it. Thought for a long time about leaving it behind for Medium or Substack but then writers I admire like you and others would explain all the reasons not to be on someone else's content platform. I think you're making the right choice, even if Ghost is more work.

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 9, 2023Liked by Jessica Wildfire

I’m cool with migrating. Do we need to do anything special with our paid subscription ? Do we have to remove it from substack and associate it with the new platform?

Expand full comment

I have not seen or heard from Jessica either

Expand full comment

No reply

It seems complicated

I’d like to receive emails as regular as you post

I did a paid subscribe but??

Expand full comment

I want to still receive your emails

I have not seen any in a while ??

Where can I find your posting essays ? Thanks Carol A

Expand full comment

I cancelled my Substack subscription for you starting next month and subscribed on your new platform. I do not want to be double charged if you migrate over my Substack subscription.

Expand full comment

It seems really simple so far, like it's working well! What made you decide to move? Was it mostly for the digest and previews?

Expand full comment

Sounds great, Jessica. Yours is the only non-personal email I enjoy receiving in my inbox and I always read it. Thank you for your work!

Expand full comment
founding

I’ve lost contact with your posts because of platform changes. The Mandela you were constructing in consciousness is now sand in the wind as impermanence entropy.

Expand full comment

I subscribe to your substack, happily. Substack shows that I have a paid membership. But when I click on stories in your emails, it says I need to subscribe to read 'em. I log out and log back in to no avail. Grateful for guidance and — despite all — happy holidays. Thank you.

Expand full comment

I'm fine with it as long as it's a seamless transition.

Expand full comment
founding

I really admire and enjoy your work and will follow you to any platform you land on. Good luck.

Expand full comment
founding

Hi! Not sure if you still check here, but it looks like the "contact support" link at your new site directs to "noreply@okdoomer.io". Emails to support appear to be bouncing - not sure how else to contact to resolve an account issue. Sorry to trouble you!

Expand full comment

I have just joined your substack and initially there were three recommended other substacks. Unfortunately I looked at one and can't get back to the others

Would it be possible to email your recommended sites to melvyn.buckton@gmail.com please?

Expand full comment

Umair Haque has his own site, and now you too? It's getting a bit complicated and becoming a bit pricey too. Medium could win the bet if you all do your own thing separately. Just a thought. 😉

Expand full comment

Love it. I really hope it does well, Jessica. Ghost wasn’t great for me but I also was trying to do that in addition to other platforms, not as a replacement. I subscribed already and will be getting your emails when you send them. Let me know if you want more work from me. 😎

Expand full comment

Tell me how it is, okay? I keep hearing about Ghost.

Expand full comment

I didn't see this, and just joined on the Substack. Will that convert to Ghost?

Expand full comment

My paid subscription has not migrated to the new site. Yesterday got a message on an article I needed to be a paying subscriber to continue.

I purchased an annual subscription here on July 29; perhaps it got missed in the transfer since it was so new? If so, could it be transferred this week sometime? Thanks!

Expand full comment

When I register on your new site, no registration/confirmation email arrives.

Expand full comment
founding

This is all so perplexing to me. I am grateful that you understand it and are able to utilize it in order to stay in touch with all of us. I am so grateful for your bright, compassionate mind.

Expand full comment

Thank you! I don’t want to miss any of your articles and it was easy to transfer my subscription.

Expand full comment

As long as I am able to see all the posts I should being a paid subber from Substack, I'm happy with wherever you want to post. :) I just don't want to miss anything. You're a gem.

Expand full comment

I subscribed through medium. I’m a bit confused as to how it’s all put together. It appears I also am able to comment through Substack. Befor membership I could not, I believe. Simply, I’m ok with however it works best for you. I’d just like to know how to find the new posts, I imagine a email alert to a new post and link.

Have to mention your themes and voice really express what has been needing to be said for several decades. So glad you’re writing and people are listening. I’m enjoying your writing and sharing the angst.

Expand full comment

Not important but I was just trying to figure out what ".ghost" was all about in the new URL. I know stupid, but now I know about ghost the blogging software platform, thanks.

Yeah, rolling your own website acquires some okay autocratic features as long as ghost doesn't change it's terms of service unexpectedly. The Ghost wikipedia page looks pretty solid, didn't even know it existed. ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghost_(blogging_platform) )

About the only thing that could injure the ghost clients is if our government in its infinite wisdom decides to weaken free speech rules on the internet like weakening section 230 of the 1996 Communications Decency Act, which could force many to think twice about posting anything online, especially beating off lawsuit trolls without being independently wealthy like the tech multinationals. Of course eventually the whole mess would probably end up as a supreme court decision yet again on what is free speech.

Yes, interesting super blog platform this 'ghost' blogging platform.

Expand full comment

I paid a one year renewal to OK Doomer ($30) on July 30th this year. But it's not letting me login?

Why is that? So far I see all of the posts etc, but you replied to one of my comments (liminalgal) and it's not letting me reply to you. I am ok with migrating.

Expand full comment

so does that mean we have to pay to keep reading?

Expand full comment